For media enquiries during the 2016/17 Christmas break, please contact:

Saturday 24th December       Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Sunday 25th December         Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Monday 26th December        Liz Carney 07887 754659
Tuesday 27th December        Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Wednesday 28th December   Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Thursday 29th December      Liz Carney 07887 754659
Friday 30th December          Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Saturday 31st December       Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Sunday 1st January               Liz Carney 07887 754659
Monday 2nd January            Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515

  • BWPA prize shots announced

    Monday 26th September, 2011

    Now in its third year, the acclaimed BWPA competition has created another stunning showcase of British wildlife.

    Read full story

  • Giving nature a place in planning

    Wednesday 21st September, 2011

    Stephanie Hilborne OBE

    Areas of critical importance for wildlife are overlooked in the draft National Planning Policy Framework (NPPF), say The Wildlife Trusts.

    Read full story

  • Entries welcome in underwater photography competition

    Tuesday 20th September, 2011

    Black faced blenny by Arthur Kingdon, 2010 winner

    Photo-shoots with crabs, cuttlefish, kelp and other creatures are the order of the day for entrants in the annual British Society of Underwater Photographers (BSoUP) print competition, organised in association with DIVER Magazine. But they need to enter their resulting prints soon as entries close on Saturday 1 October. The Wildlife Trusts will judge entries in the British and Irish categories, which have a ‘Living Seas’ theme.

    Read full story

  • Remember A Charity Week

    Monday 12th September, 2011

    Autumn walk  by Tanya Perdikou

    What does a beauty spot along the River Pang, thought to be the inspiration for Wind in the Willows, have in common with Wales’ largest sandwich tern colony and some of the last remaining ancient broadleaf woodlands in Warwickshire? Legacies have played a part in securing a future for them all, say The Wildlife Trusts, as Remember A Charity week gets underway.

    Read full story

  • Marine Protected Area recommendations revealed

    Thursday 8th September, 2011

    As stakeholder recommendations for a network of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) around England are today made public, The Wildlife Trusts remind the Government of its commitment to create a well managed ecologically coherent network covering at least 25% of English waters by 2016.

    Read full story

  • Safe havens for marine wildlife a step closer

    Wednesday 31st August, 2011

    An important step towards reversing the decline in our marine environment has been taken today, as stakeholder recommendations for a network of Marine Protected Areas (MPAs) around England are sent to Government.

    Read full story

  • WildlifeXpo

    Thursday 25th August, 2011

    A brand new wildlife exhibition is coming to London’s Alexandra Palace on Friday 14 and Saturday 15 October 2011. WildlifeXpo offers wildlife lovers an exciting combination of exhibitors, lectures and workshops.

    Read full story

  • Nature's worth it

    Tuesday 23rd August, 2011

    Image credit: Amy Lewis

    The Wildlife Trusts welcome two research reports published today by the Department for Environment, Farming and Rural Affairs (Defra) which outline the benefits of protecting wildlife and habitats.

    Read full story

  • Be a part of the ‘Big Wildlife Garden’

    Friday 19th August, 2011

    Caroline Spelman and Carlo Laurenzi launching 'Big Wildlife Garden' competition

    Everyone has the opportunity to help create the UK’s largest nature reserve from today (Friday 19 August) – with the launch of the ‘Big Wildlife Garden’ (BWG) competition.

    Read full story

  • Birdwatchers rally to the sound of summer

    Friday 19th August, 2011

    It’s one of nature’s greatest miracles: millions of birds leave Africa each spring and head north to nest in the UK and other parts of Europe, only to return to Africa each autumn. However this multi-million-winged migration is under threat.

    Read full story