March 2013

For media enquiries during the 2016/17 Christmas break, please contact:

Saturday 24th December       Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Sunday 25th December         Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Monday 26th December        Liz Carney 07887 754659
Tuesday 27th December        Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Wednesday 28th December   Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Thursday 29th December      Liz Carney 07887 754659
Friday 30th December          Adam Cormack 07824 846204
Saturday 31st December       Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515
Sunday 1st January               Liz Carney 07887 754659
Monday 2nd January            Emma Robertshaw 07779 657515

  • Wild daffodils set to put on annual golden display

    Sunday 31st March, 2013

    Daffodils cpt Neil Aldridge

    Displays of gold are setting alight our woods and meadows, as hordes of daffodils show their true colours at The Wildlife Trusts’ nature reserves all over the UK.

    Read full story

  • Ash dieback control plan welcome

    Tuesday 26th March, 2013

    Environment Secretary, Owen Paterson MP, today publishes the Government’s management plan for tackling ash die back.

    Read full story

  • Scottish Wildlife Trust Chief Executive wins prestigious award

    Friday 22nd March, 2013

    The Wildlife Trusts are delighted that Simon Milne MBE, Chief Executive of the Scottish Wildlife Trust, has been awarded the Third Sector Director of the Year award by the Institute of Directors Scotland.

    Read full story

  • Gove knows not what he does

    Wednesday 20th March, 2013

    cpt Emma Bradshaw

    Everyone who cares for the natural environment is being urged to call on the Government to ensure children are taught about its true value.

    Read full story

  • The Budget 2013: Value of nature lost on this Government

    Wednesday 20th March, 2013

    Chancellor George Osborne today put long-term prosperity at risk with a short-term bid for growth.

    Read full story

  • Osborne urged to invest in nature

    Tuesday 19th March, 2013

    cpt Zsuzsanna Bird

    As the pressure mounts on George Osborne to ‘go for growth’ in his budget announcement tomorrow, The Wildlife Trusts call on the Chancellor to recognise that our long-term prosperity will depend on restoring our natural capital.

    Read full story

  • Rail review results announced

    Friday 15th March, 2013

    The results of the five Judicial Reviews, heard in December, into the Government’s decision on phase 1 of HS2 between London and the West Midlands have today been announced.

    Read full story

  • Artists dive to show magic of our seas

    Thursday 14th March, 2013

    It all happens at St Abbs Head by Anna Kirk-Smith

    All five artists who have benefited from winning The Wildlife Trusts’ Underwater Art Award since its inception are staging an exhibition for the first time after taking the plunge to show the magic of our seas.

    Read full story

  • Oil spillage threatens Yorkshire’s seabirds

    Tuesday 12th March, 2013

    Selwicks Bay fog station Flamborough cpt David Nichols

    An oil slick is currently threatening one of Yorkshire’s most important wildlife colonies, the seabirds of Flamborough Head.

    Read full story

  • Countdown for the countryside: 5 days left to urge MEPs to vote for nature-friendly farming

    Friday 8th March, 2013

    Farming landscape cpt Zsuzsanna Bird

    A group of 11 wildlife organisations has come together through the Joint Links group [1] to urge everyone to press their MEPs to vote for farming that supports nature in one of the most significant votes ever held in the European Parliament.

    Read full story